Who We Are: ABC Driving Clinic has offered Virginia DMV-certified defensive driving clinics across Northern Virginia for over 13 years. As a small, local business, our Virginia DMV-certified 8-hour computer-based (online) defensive driving clinic has helped thousands of drivers in the DC area and across the United States. The fee for our clinic is just $60, with no additional fees required.
Enrollment: Click to enroll in the self-paced, 8-hour online clinic at any time, 24 hours / 7 days a week. Drivers must use the PayPal portal on the registration page before clicking 'register' to complete enrollment and begin the online clinic (students can also use a credit card through PayPal if they don't have a PayPal account). Students can pause their online course as often as needed to accommodate their schedule and pick up right where they left off. Inactive accounts for more than 90 days will be archived.
Final Exam & Certificates: Once a student completes the online clinic using their own computer, tablet, or smartphone, they’ll then complete the required final exam from their own computer. ABC has fully transitioned from students needing to complete the final exam at a physical testing site to completing the final exam from their homes or wherever else students have access to the online final exam.Students can also save and print a PDF of their Certificate of Clinic Completion after completing the 8-hour clinic and passing the final exam. ABC submits student clinic completion records to the Virginia DMV database dated the same day the student completes the final exam. ABC Driving Clinic does not communicate with courts; so, students will need to send their Certificate of Clinic Completion to a court if required by a court.
Safe Driver Points/Credit: Once students complete the online clinic, Virginia drivers may be eligible to receive up to five safe-driver points. Drivers not holding a Virginia drivers' license may also be eligible for points, but must check with their state DMV to be sure. If you are a Virginia driver, safe driving points matter; so, check out Virginia DMV's points system website here: http://www.dmv.state.va.us/drivers/#points.asp. Drivers complete clinics as volunteers or by referral from Virginia DMV, a court, or an insurer. Students must know their reason code for taking the clinic as this information is required in the ABC Driving Clinic database upon registration, on the Certificate of Clinic Completion, and in the Virginia DMV database once they complete the final exam.
A Virginia driver completing the clinic as a volunteer can earn safe driving points every two years. Many DMV and court referrals can allow for points to be awarded, but are usually specific to the driver's reason for the referral. Insurance referrals typically do not receive points; Students should contact their insurer if they are completing the clinic as an insurance referral to determine if they should complete the clinic as a volunteer or as an insurance referral.
For information on Maryland's point system, click here: https://mva.maryland.gov/about-mva/Pages/info/26100/26100-02T.aspx; for DC's point system, click and search for specifics on: http://dmv.dc.gov/page/point-system-chart.
Commercial Driver License (CDL) Holders: Virginia CDL holders cannot take online clinics for safe driver credit or points; they must attend a commercial defensive driving clinic. Non-Virginia CDL holders who can attend our online for safe-driving credit should check with their state DMV, courts, or insurer for details. For more on Virginia DMV commercial defensive driving clinics, visit: http://www.dmv.state.va.us/drivers/#comclinics.asp.
Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VSAP): If you received a letter from a DMV, court, employer, or an insurer requiring you to attend a clinic, read the letter carefully and be sure which clinic is right for you. Drivers who must attend 20-hours of VASAP education, should visit http://www.vasap.state.va.us/vasapprograms/vasapprograms.html for details on that program.
Contact: Please e-mail email@example.com or call/text for help with any questions. Calls, e-mails, and texts are answered and returned Monday - Friday, from 6 p.m. to 11 p.m., and from 8 a.m. to 11 p.m. Saturday and Sunday.